What to do if you forget to cancel your Netflix free trial

If you forget to cancel your Netflix free trial don’t worry you can still avoid paying for a subscription service you don’t want. Keep reading to learn how to avoid forgetting your Netflix free trial end and what to do if this happens. Netflix offers a free month of service. To start your free trial all you need to do is go to Netflix.com to choose a plan and a payment option. During this month you will not be a charge and you can cancel at any time during this period but after your trial ends they will automatically charge you one monthly fee. Even though Netflix will remind you when your free trial is about to end sometimes we forget to cancel on time. To avoid this the best thing you can do is to cancel as soon as your free trial starts as Netflix will let you enjoy the remainder of the free one-month trial. Also, it is worth setting a reminder on your smartphone if you plan on canceling your Netflix before the 30-day trial ends.

What if you forget that your Free Trial ends?

Netflix has become just like the other family member and a part and parcel of our everyday routines and frankly who doesn’t know about it?  I mean it gives you the power to stream media from specific countries all around the globe. Once you have subscribed and signed up to Netflix, you are good to get started. And you can easily stream media from North and South America, Caribbean countries, and parts of Europe.  The first month is a free trial month and then you will have to pay to continue streaming after the trial month ends. And unless you unsubscribe from it, you will start being billed after the end of the free-trial period. So if you want to avoid being charged, you need to cancel the subscription on your own or you can contact the administrators to cancel it for you.

Take it from someone who is too forgetful to cancel subscriptions after the free-trial period ends and ends up getting charged because I forget to cancel my membership on time and when I see the credit charge, I am like “Sdfrssfdgdfgf”. So here I will share how do I avoid forgetting about the last date of the free-trial period so that you can benefit from it too.

Set a reminder

A very ideal approach would be to set up a reminder a couple of days before the end of the trial period. But I have discovered an even smarter trick and that is to cancel your membership right after being a member. Yes, you heard that right. Cancel right after you the sign-up. Because for most free- trials, even after the cancellation, the free-trial stays active and this way, you won't forget later. So do try this trick out the next time you do a free trial and save yourself from the stress.

Be wary of the auto-renewal

Everyone loves a freebie and no one can really resist the temptation of using things for free. The same goes for the free-trial periods, you are enjoying everything about this service like any other paying member. But you don’t even realize when and how the period ended and you too, now fall into the category of the paying members also because of the auto-renewal of your membership after the trial period. So it will be better to be mindful of it prior to the closing date. Don’t expect the company to notify you about this because why would they?

In case you miss the deadline…

But what if after all these reminders, diary notes and marked calendars, you still forgot to cancel the membership before the deadline. Well, all is still not lost. You can still cancel your membership through the site unless you have actually spent time on the site like logged onto Netflix and watched stuff. A silver lining, you could even receive some sort of refund if you didn’t use the service.

If, however you have been using these services since the end of the free trial period, you will have to wait for another month to cancel it. One thing, you can continue to use these services until the account is closed. Now don’t tell me you don’t know how to cancel?

 

How to cancel Netflix membership?

Well, it is pretty straightforward. Follow these simple steps:

  1. Go to the Netflix app, or open it up in your web browser.
  2. Then, go to the right corner of the page and click on your account icon, and select “Account”
  3. Go to “Membership & Billing” section, and look for the button that says “Cancel Membership” click on this. You will be redirected to a new page, where you have two options:
  4. Cancel your membership or Downgrade your current plan
  5. Click on the “Finish Cancellation” button to end your subscription. 

It is important to know that you will have access to your Netflix account until the end of the current billing period. Netflix also stores your profile, favorite shows, and account details for up to 10 months after you cancel your subscription. If during this time you want to re-subscribe all your viewing preferences will be there waiting for you.

More from Keyring